Saltar la navegación Prokaryotic cell morphology

Prokaryotic cell morphology

The bacteria have four morphological types:

  • Bacillus, elongated or rod-shaped. They usually present linear chains of individuals.
  • Spirilo, in the form of a spiral.
  • Vibrio, in the form of a comma.
  • Coco, with spherical shape. Depending on how they are divided, they present different groupings:
    • streptococci (in the form of chains),
    • staphylococci (in the form of clusters) and
    • sarcina (in cubic forms).

The groups of individuals that present some bacteria are due to the fact that, after division, the bacterial capsule holds the daughter bacteria together.

Por Mariana Ruiz LadyofHats [Public domain], undefined