Saltar la navegación Moon phases

Moon phases

Radiation from the Sun reaches the Moon and its reflection reaches the Earth. As the rotation and translation of the Moon lasts the same (28 days), there is always the same area of ​​the Moon oriented towards the Earth. But depending on the relative position of the Earth, the Moon and the Sun, the illuminated lunar surface of the Moon visible from the Earth varies. These changes are known as lunar phases .

The moon phases are:

  • New moon. The Moon is located between the Sun and the Earth, so the Sun illuminates the far side of the Moon, while the visible side is not illuminated and, therefore, is not visible from the Earth.
  • Crescent quarter. The Moon is located at an angle between the Sun and the Earth, so that only a part of the visible face of the Moon is illuminated. The illuminated part increases day by day, as the Moon rotates on the Earth.
  • Full moon (or full moon). It occurs when the Earth is between the Sun and the Moon. The Sun fully illuminates the visible face of the Moon, reflecting so much light that it can even illuminate the Earth's nights quite a bit. The visible part of the Moon is fully visible.
  • Last quarterDays after the full Moon, the Moon is located at an angle between the Sun and the Earth, and only a part of the visible side receives the light of the Sun, so that every night less illuminated Moon is seen from the Earth.