1st ESO

3rd ESO

4th ESO

Biology 2nd Baccalaureate

Index by courses



Skip navigation

8.1.1. Types of ecosystems

Types of ecosystems

The  biosphere is a thin layer of the Earth, from about 10 km of altitude to the ocean floor, in which life develops.

Living beings cannot survive in isolation, but they need to relate to the environment that surrounds them, so each living being is related to others, of the same or of a different species. That is, it lives in an ecosystem.

There are two different environments in the biosphere, the aquatic environment and the terrestrial one, in which species have adapted to live, as a consequence of natural selection, under certain environmental conditions.

According to the dominant environment, ecosystems are usually divided into:


Legal warning






Follow us if it has been useful to you

Biology and Geology teaching materials for Compulsory Secondary Education (ESO) and Baccalaureate students.